A medal worth waiting for.

I was very excitable waking up this morning knowing that today I got to see if my bronze casts worked.

AND THEY DID!

Now its just the labouring task of working them until they are magnificent and beautiful.

First I had to cut each one off the tree. I did this using an angle grinder with an attachment which works with soft metals like bronze.

bronze2bronze1

Then you have to grind down the risers which connected each medal to the tree.

bronze3

As didn’t want my medals polish and shiny, because I wanted to reference the landscapes they were depicting and I didn’t want to loose any of the detail on the medal, i decided to sandblast my medals to finish them.

This is the finished outcome:

P1090722

P1090776

I’m so proud of the way they came out. They are exactly what I wanted them to be. And not only have I gained and homed in a lot of skills involving bronze casting and mould making in this process, I feel I have also become a better organiser and have improved my skills working with others.



Leave a comment